MO HealthNet (Medicaid) for the Blind and Visually Impaired

MO HealthNet (Medicaid) for the Blind and Visually Impaired provides medical care for persons who are blind or visually impaired and meet other eligibility requirements.

How do I get help?

After your application has been processed, you will receive a letter from the Family Support Division. If you are eligible for services, you will be issued a “MO HealthNet Identification Card,” and explanation of the medical services available to you.

There is no cash grant with this program.

Already applied for MO HealthNet? Check the status of your application.

Who is eligible?

Any person who:

  • is 18 years of age or older and is determined by law to be blind (vision less than 5/200);
  • has net income less than $981 per month for an individual or $1328 for a couple. (If monthly income exceeds this amount, the participant may become eligible when their incurred medical expenses reduce their monthly income below this limit. For more information, see Spend Down information on the Missouri Medicaid Audit & Compliance Site.;
  • who lives in Missouri and intends to remain;
  • who is a United States citizen or an eligible qualified non-citizen;
  • if single, does not own personal property worth more than $2,000 or, if married and living with spouse, does not own property worth more than $4,000 individually or together. The following is not considered; the home in which the blind person lives, clothes, furniture, household equipment, personal jewelry, or any other property used directly by the blind person in earning a living;
  • does not have a sighted spouse who can provide support;
  • does not publicly solicit alms; and
  • is not a resident of a public institution except a public medical institution.