Continuous Eligibility for Children FAQs

Continuous Eligibility for Children FAQs

What is continuous eligibility for children?

Starting January 1, 2024, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) requires all states to provide continuous eligibility for children ages 18 and under who get their healthcare through Medicaid (MO HealthNet) or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Unless the child meets an exception, the Family Support Division (FSD) may not terminate the child’s healthcare eligibility during their 12-month eligibility period. The 12-month eligibility period begins the month their coverage begins. It can also be reset in the first month after FSD completes a regularly-scheduled annual renewal. Even if the parent/guardian reports changes that would cause the parent or the household to lose eligibility, the child will continue to be eligible for the 12-month eligibility period.

FSD is required to check the eligibility of all MO HealthNet participants each year. This is called an annual renewal. Your child’s annual renewal will be due during their anniversary month, or the month when their coverage first began. You can find out when your child’s annual renewal is due by logging into the FSD Benefit Portal. For more information, visit Renewing Your MO HealthNet Coverage.

What exceptions would cause a child’s coverage to be terminated?

A child’s eligibility may not be terminated during the 12-month continuous eligibility period unless one of the following exceptions applies:

  • The child turns age 19
  • The parent/guardian requests a voluntary termination of eligibility
  • The child is no longer a resident of Missouri
  • An error was made when determining eligibility for coverage either by the Family Support Division (FSD) or due to fraud, abuse, or perjury by either the child or their parent/guardian
  • The child is deceased
Will there ever be a review of my income and/or household in order to continue receiving MO HealthNet coverage?

Every year, all MO HealthNet (Missouri Medicaid) participants are required to complete an Annual Renewal. The Family Support Division will review your annual renewal information to see if your child is still eligible for MO HealthNet or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). If your child is determined ineligible during your annual renewal, and they do not have other healthcare coverage, please visit Healthcare.gov to explore coverage options. If your child is determined to be eligible, their eligibility will be renewed for another 12 months (this is called their 12-month eligibility period).

For more information, visit Renewing Your MO HealthNet Coverage or login to the FSD Benefits Portal to view information about your coverage or find out when your child’s annual renewal is due. 
 

Do changes need to be reported for me and/or my child?

Yes, reporting changes is mandatory by law and important. Depending on the changes you report, it could mean your child is either eligible for a higher level of coverage or their coverage would stay the same for 12 months. Changes to report include:

  • Changes in income
  • Getting other health insurance
  • Loss of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for children eligible for Medicaid based on their SSI
  • Change in address or phone number

To report these changes, complete the Report A Change form online, call the Family Support Division at (855) 373-4636, or visit your local office.