Medicare Cost Savings Programs

The Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and Specified Low Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) programs are commonly referred to as Medicare Cost Savings Programs. The purpose of these programs is to assist individuals by paying:

  • Medicare premiums and by making payments to medical providers for coinsurance and deductibles for Medicare services; or
  • Medicare Part B premiums only.

To qualify for the QMB/SLMB program, applicants must meet three general eligibility requirements:

  1. Be enrolled in Part A Medicare (Hospital Insurance)
  2. Have resources not exceeding the QMB/SLMB resource maximums of $7,390 for an individual, and $11,090 for a couple
  3. Have income not exceeding the QMB/SLMB standard of the Federal Poverty Level for the assistance group size

Additionally, QMB/SLMB applicants must also meet the MHABD general eligibility requirements of:

  • Social Security number
  • Citizenship/Alien status, and
  • Residency/Institutional

 Paper Application

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary

The QMB program pays for Medicare Part B premiums, coinsurance, and deductibles for eligible persons enrolled in Medicare Part A, whose income is less than 100% of the Federal Poverty Level.

QMB Income Standards:
Number of Persons Income
*Income limits in effect on April 1 , 2017
01 $1005
02 $1354
03 $1702

Specified Low Medicare Beneficiary

The SLMB program provides payment of Medicare Part B premiums only for individuals who would be eligible for the QMB program except for excess income. Income for this program must be more than 100% of the FPL, but not exceed 120% or 135% of the FPL.

SLMB Income Standards:
Number of Persons Group 1 Income Group 2 Income
*Income limits in effect on April 1 , 2017
01 $1206  $1357
02 $1624 $1827
03 $2042 $2298